Tutorial: Cupcakes

wpid-20131129_235706.jpg
image

It’s my birthday today! So what could be more appropriate than cake? Cupcakes, to be precise. If we’re using some artistic licence and squinting a little bit, it looks a bit like these cherry and coconut cupcakes that I made a while back.

I couldn’t decide if I preferred the design with or without ‘sprinkles’, so I did both!

cupcakenail

This design is surprisingly time consuming, and it’s done entirely freehand. The steps I followed were
1. Apply a base coat in Barry M Gelly in Lychee
2. Using a nail art brush, apply stripes of Rimmel Hot Shot (bright pink) to the lower half of the nail. Allow that to dry. 3. Use a nail brush to apply stripes of Rimmel Pompous (slightly glittery purple) inbetween the stripes of Hot Shot. This will be your cupcake case.
4. Using a large dotting tool, apply OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls to create the icing.
5. Again using a dotting tool, create a glittery cherry using Miss Sporty Oh My Gem! in Gorgeous Red
6. If desired, use a small dotting tool, use Hot Shot and Pompous to create ‘sprinkles’.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tutorial: Cupcakes

  1. Sarah T says:

    Happy Birthday!! I’ve actually been looking for a good cupcake tutorial since my birthday is at the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

